This church was first organized under the name of Harmony Baptist in August, 1842, by Elders Jeremiah Taylor and A. C. Broaddus. Rev. Taylor was the first pastor and Wm. T. Keith the first regular clerk. Among the first members were:

A. W. Johnson Andrew B. Hawkins Edward Searcy
Judith P. Searcy Wm. T. Keith Eliza Hawkins
Philomelia Johnson Mary Reno W. H. Pepper
W. F. G. Lonsdale Ann T. Wallace Jane Ann Couch
Rebeeca Ann Corder H. A. Johnson Francis Evans
Nancy Jane Turner Rachel Sands Hannah Day
Sarah Ann Cobbs M. H. Couch Elvira Couch
Delilah Johnson Joseph Sands Nancy Ann Sands
Marsena Maxey Mary Vanlandingham Sarah Pepper
Thomas Day Sarah S . Reed Emeline Toliver
Milton Crockett Elizabeth Pepper Robert Lewis
Henry M. Nicol Eliza Nicol Charlotte Glenn
J. Q. Christian

The congregation first occupied a church in conjunction with the Old School Presbyterians. The first church house was built in the fall of 1877. It is a frame building, 30 x 40, seating comfortably 300 people, and cost about $950. It was dedicated the same fall by Rev. W. Pope Yeaman, D. D., then of St. Louis, now of Columbia, Mo. The present membership is 77. B. P. Hixon is the pastor; Mr. J. Christian is and has been for 30 years the clerk.