This church was organized September 25, 1859. The original members were:

James B. Reed J. P. Nelson J. R. Yeager E. Hansbrough
R. M. Brown J. Redd Nelson Lovelace Lucy Nelson
Sarah Coons Fannie Dingle Susan Nelson Mary Mathews
E. Coons.

The church is a brick building and was built in 1871, on the southeast quarter of section 14, township 59, range 6, at a cost of about $3,000. The pastors that have served this church have been Thomas Sheppard, S. M. Doyle, R. L. Cave, B. H. Smith and D. R. Lucas. The present membership is 50. The present elders are James A. Scott and Jerry Taylor. The deacons are Samuel Connell and Wm. L. Nelson. The latter is also clerk.

Source: R. I. Holcombe. History of Marion County, Missouri: Written and Compiled from the Most Authentic Official and Private Sources : Including a History of Its Townships, Towns, and Villages, Together with a Condensed History of Missouri, the City of St. Louis, a Reliable and Detailed History of Marion County, Its Pioneer Record, War History, Resources, Biographical Sketches and Portraits of Prominent Citizens : General and Local Statistics of Great Value, and a Large Amount of Legal and Miscellaneous Matter, Incidents and Reminiscences, Grave, Tragic and Humorous. St. Louis : E. F. Perkins, 1884.